Program Narrative 

"The Seven Eras" showcases a selection of the fantastical characters, storylines, and facets of the Zenkora Universe through the brilliant creative works of poetry, dance, theatre, animation, visual art, and of course - a full orchestra score. Artists from around the States and Canada come together to collaborate and support this innovative initiative. 

10,000 Years in a Nutshell...

We begin on the tumultuous battlefields of the ancient world, where unfolds our historical drama of three warring empires. These titanic civilizations blossomed on an infant earth, a wild land of gods and monsters. It was a time of unimaginable fury where the glory of mankind reached a summit never to be seen again. This is Zenkora’s First Era, the mythical “War of Titans”, when giants both literal and figurative roamed a world lost in time.

Of all the alien majesties beheld Upon a world where once the giants dwelled, Few match the fury of the frenzied quest For sovereignty the ancient monsters wrest. So, at this antique tale all now behold: The War of Titans, finally, is told.
- The Song of Ayaveth, opening lines

With the eventual fall of the three empires came the Second Era. Marked by shadows and the haunting memory of catastrophes from the age before, it would eventually come to be known as “The Dooms Seven”. The remnants of humanity scrambled to regain their power, lost in the fog of the previous era, and once again all peoples of the world were plunged into tumultuous times of war and paranoia. In every nation, whispers of new legends slowly began to bloom, with one of these great legends emerging in the exotic lands and lakes of Meimera: a tale of mystical twins. These sisters came to be known as General Mi and the Pastry Chef: one a mighty commander of vast armies in an endless war, and the other an enigmatic demon hunter of the most lethal variety.

In my palm I hold this world. In my sister’s, all the others.
- General Mi, grand commander of the Meimerese armies, 3rd century Dongmu dynasty

In the Third Era, a dastardly plan of dire proportions erupts in the Everworld, a group of seven alternate planes of reality, each of which governs a different facet of the universe. Travel between the regular world and the planes of the Everworld was once plentiful and rife with thrill and adventure. Now the Everworld looms in ancient obscurity, once again waiting for pioneers and pilgrims from all corners of the universe. Here enters Walker, who has the appearance and demeanor of a child, but destined with footsteps to terrify gods. He is tasked to bring an end to a devious plot to overwhelm the living world in perfect chaos.

No, I am not the Death of worlds. But I am yours.
— The Walker in the Waysides

After centuries of dire and desperate struggle, humanity has once against expanded to all corners of the globe. Industrialization has run rampant, with strange and fantastic concoctions brewing at the borders where new and crazed science meet old eldritch magics. With the Great War looming on the horizon, the heartbeat of the world is choked with anxiety, accompanied by the relentless beat of machinery. This concert’s Fourth Era representative is the epic “Feather Saga”, a swashbuckling tale of pirates, spies, intrigue, and magic. In this volatile time of history also falls the Last Great Age of Pirates, with the Nine Great Pirate Lords vying for dominion over sea and sky.

A burst of fiery red, a tale, a feath’r,
A bond so deep not even death can sev’r.
- Excerpt from opening of “The Feather Saga”

After a brief intermission, we enter the modern years of the Fifth Era. Fresh from the calamitous Great War, the newly revived world charges headlong into prosperity and development, like a garden just moments after winter’s end. This is the age of daring superheroes, magnificent sorcerers, and brilliant scientists. Our focus falls on the endearing lives of five students of the New Verdecas Conservatory of Magic, who engage in intrepid detective work as the so-called “Flower Club”, solving mysteries of all scales.

She is like many others. A young, energetic, joyful girl. Still a girl, yet sharply sensitive, shrewd. Trapped by her capacity to hope, her nature to care, to uphold the old romantic ideals. Sky Kim. She is that girl.
- Excerpt from opening of Chapter 1, “The Flower Club”

The Sixth Era sees the expansion of humanity into space, and the challenges of diplomacy among humanity and their newfound extraterrestrial neighbors. Yet the threat of war is ever active, and before long, humanity is once again thrown into catastrophic combat unlike any in memory. Amidst the gargantuan conflict are the daring exploits of the Pioneer spacecraft and her ragtag crew of dysfunctional geniuses on a flight through otherworldly dimensions, pursued by the mysteriously terrifying Project CURIO.

We were never meant to live in this world. We were meant to transcend it!
-  Ulysses West, press conference on a milestone development of the Pioneer Project

The Seventh and final Era is the darkest yet. In their final moments, humanity struggles as a last flickering candle in the empty bleakness of the cosmos. Even now, war ravages what little landscape is left, and yet the hope and strength of individuals seems ever immortal. This Era is represented by “Death’s Kaleidoscope”, a grim tale of desperate survivors on an alien world, where magically-enhanced superbeings called Colorkeepers wrest for power in spectacular battles of light.

This world seemed to hold nothing but these desolate structures, fallen from the heavens, which were guarded by powerful enemies that wielded color as their weapons.
- Excerpt from “Death’s Kaleidoscope”