Did You Know? - Ectaghan Capitals

The nation of Ectagha (Z- USA/Canada) has had three capital cities over the centuries:

  • First Landing: the oldest city in Ectagha, was founded by pilgrims from Laraenia. First Landing served as Ectagha's capital, cultural and commercial hub, and primary port for nearly a thousand years, until the extreme decline of the city and the surrounding state of Desdemona caused the national government to relocate to the brand-new city of Istapolis in the late Fourth Era. (Learn more about the decline of First Landing in the new Virtuetown storyline).  
  • Istapolis: a planned, purpose-built city on Ectagha's beautiful eastern coast in the state of New Faur, nestled between the mountains and the sea. Istapolis was completely destroyed at the beginning of the Great War, but quickly rebuilt after the war as a symbol of Ectagha's recovery. The national government fled Istapolis just hours before the massive firebombing campaign that leveled the city.
  • Unareos: the current capital of Ectagha. Originally a dusty waypoint town in the frontier state of Mandrake, Unareos was chosen as a temporary wartime site to host the national government. Unareos was chosen because its deep inland location and inhospitably hot climate would make it difficult for invading armies to capture. The government never followed through on their plan to return to Istapolis, as the World Assembly made that city their headquarters (indeed, even repurposing the restored Ectaghan Capitol Building as their new primary office.) Unareos quickly grew from a sleepy frontier town to a bustling metropolis, although most Ectaghans still scoff at their country's rough-and-tumble capital city- even the national government refuses to acknowledge their own presence in the city in any official documents, and continually refuses to budget federal funding to improve the city's nearly non-existent public transit and other services.


Did You Know? - Zenkora Geography

Zenkora has 4 major continents:

  • Eimia, the Mother Continent
  • Axia, the Northern Shattered Continent
  • Evyia, the Western Shattered Continent
  • Nielia, the Southern Shattered Continent

In the first era, there were actually only two continents- Eimia and Yadolba. A cataclysmic event during the War of the Titans in the First Era brought a massive meteor hurtling down into the center of Yadolba, causing a massive a tectonic movement that broke the continent into 3 separate pieces. 

All humans in Zenkora can trace their genealogy back to Eimia, home to 6 major regions:

  • Meimera (Z-Asia)
  • Naranija (Z-Indoarabia)
  • Oromanta (Z-Africa)
  • The Four Nations (Z-Native Americans/First Nations)
  • Laraenia (Z-Europe)
  • Tabar (Z-Mediterranean)

Prior to the Third Era, there were no human settlements on any of the three Shattered Continents. The first settlers from Laraenia set sail from Ostangos at the dawn of the Third Era, landing on the arid, scrub-covered western coast of Evyia, founding the city known today as First Landing (the setting of the Virtuetown storyline). A decade later, the first Meimeran pioneers sailed from Changmei and landed in the swamps of eastern Nielia. 

In the modern Fifth era of Zenkora, there are many nations and cultures spread across these 4 continents- a topic for another Did You Know post!